Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Four years ago, none of us at WAFDE would have guessed that World Dragon Day would fall within our annual Month of the Dragon celebrations. We are delighted beyond words!

Which brings me – of course – to words.

In honor of the day, I present you with some of my favorite Dragon quotes and pictures. For fun and the glory of Dragons!

Weyrworld - Pern Dragonriders

Weyrworld – Pern Dragonriders



 

I desired dragons with a profound desire.
…J.R.R.Tolkiendragon-bluered

 

I do not care what comes after;
I have seen the dragons on the wind of morning.
…Ursula K. Le Guin1390480_227082264119248_1389350472_n

 It is conventional to call ‘monster’ any
blending of dissonant elements. . . . I call
monster” every original inexhaustible beauty.
…Alfred Jarry423816-bigthumbnail

 

No, I would not want to live in a world without dragons,
as I would not want to live in a world without magic,
for that is a world without mystery,
and that is a world without faith.
…R.A. SalvatoreDragon shaman - Grey Seagull

 

Perhaps all the dragons in our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us act, just once, with beauty and courage. Perhaps everything that frightens us is, in its deepest essence, something helpless that wants our love.
…Rainer Maria RilkeDaenerys Targaryen - Dejan-delic

 

We were talking of DRAGONS, Tolkien and I in a Berkshire bar.
The big workman who had sat silent and sucked his pipe all the evening, from his empty mug, with gleaming eye glanced towards us:
“I seen ’em myself!” he said fiercely.
…C.S. Lewis

d482eedaea36fe75832df6ca57aae488

To have dragons one must have change;
that is the first principle of dragon lore.
…Loren EiseleyK

 

People who deny the existence of dragons are often eaten by dragons.
From within.

…Ursula K. Le GuinU

 

My soul is in the sky.
                ….William ShakespeareZ2

It’s a metaphor of human bloody existence, a dragon.
And if that wasn’t bad
enough, it’s also a bloody great hot flying thing.
…Terry Pratchett

Fire Breathing Dragon - Jezebel

Fire Breathing Dragon – Jezebel

To Whomever
These village fires
Still have meaning
O may your own most secret
& beautiful Animal of Light
Come safely to you.
           ….Kenneth Patchen

Many Dragons - Jackie Morris

Many Dragons – Jackie Morris

Happy World Dragon Day!


**In the tradition of Month of the Dragon, everyone who leaves a comment here at Dragon’s Nest has their name go into a hat. At the end of the month, a name will be drawn and the winner will receive signed copies of my books, The Dragon Keeper’s Handbook and Dragons for Beginners (both from Llewellyn Worldwide). Hope everyone is feeling lucky!