Tags

, , , , ,

What goes around comes around. Thanks to The Secret Keeper for reissuing my Editor’s Corner posts…Hope they are helpful.

the secret keeper

Scribe smallElements of Style: A Guide to Wowing on the Literary Runway

Let us now praise little books.

Well, one particular little book.

I don’t know when I got my first copy of Strunk and White’s The Elements of Style. The fluid fiction of memory tells me it was in my distant tweeny past, around the time I decided to be a writer. That original volume, spine-cracked and finger-stained, has been swallowed by the years, replaced and swallowed again. And, no matter how many pages I’ve written myself or edited for others, time after time, I still take EofS’s current, dog-eared incarnation from the shelf and go back to basics.

For, like all art, writing begins as a craft and any craft takes time and work to learn well. Before we graduate to the swish-and-swirl aspects of literary style, to voice and hue, meter and pitch, we need to…

View original post 405 more words

