Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

With the November 11 DVD/Blu-ray release of How To Train Your Dragon 2 just around the corner – it was released digitally this week for all of us who just couldn’t wait – I asked my friend and fellow Dracophile, R.J.Robinson to pen a few words on the subject of Hiccup, Toothless, and the new, improved, Dragons of Berk.

Enjoy.How-to-Train-Your-Dragon-2-Wallpaper-New

How To Train Your Dragon 2 Review by R.J. Robinson.

This is a minor spoil-filled review, so if you haven’t seen the movie, be warned.

I consider “How To Train Your Dragon” to be Dreamwork’s best animated franchise. With two current full length films out, a few short films and a TV show, with a third season said to premiere on Netflix in Spring 2015, you can clearly see that the story of Hiccup and Toothless is far from over. And I’m glad for that. I saw the first film when I was nineteen. I fell in love with the score. The characters. Pretty much everything about the first movie. Now, before I start with the review, I’d like to say I saw “How To Train Your Dragon 2” after watching every episode of the TV show and the short films, before hand. So my experience watching this movie may have been different than others.

How-To-Train-Your-Dragon-2-Review-3-MamaMommyMom

HTTYD 2 takes places 5 years after the first film.The characters are older, and a little more mature. So is the film. It has matured. But just a bit. That is one of the things I like about “How To Train Your Dragon 2.” It makes a time jump, and we, figuratively speaking, grow up with the characters. The animation is crisp and better than ever. The score by John Powell is beautiful and always lifts your spirits! The flying scenes with Toothless are breathtaking. It’s like you’re flying on a dragon for the first time! 515491

I know this review seems very positive, and the film certainly does deserve praise. It narrowly avoids sequel-itis. The song sung between Stoick and Valka is truly a beautiful scene to behold – the TV show referenced Hiccup’s mother, once or twice. Even seeing the dragons again on the big screen was a wonderful thing to witness. I can go on and on about what I liked about this movie. I personally couldn’t really find anything wrong with it. But if I did find anything, I would only be nitpicking. I like that this series isn’t a kid movie. These movies are for the entire family. I can’t wait to visit The Isle of Berk, and see Hiccup and Toothless in 3 years. I give “How To Train Your Dragon 2” 4 stars out of 4.

howtotrainyourdragon_videothumbnail


**In the tradition of Month of the Dragon, everyone who leaves a comment here at Dragon’s Nest has their name go into a hat. At the end of the month, a name will be drawn and the winner will receive signed copies of my books, The Dragon Keeper’s Handbook and Dragons for Beginners (both from Llewellyn Worldwide). Hope everyone is feeling lucky!

