Tags

, , , , ,

Book,, opening lines, and Dragons. Many thanks to Niamh Clune for jumping into MotD and spreading its wings. Just goes to show that Dragons can be anywhere and everywhere.

Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

For some weeks now, I have been thinking about the importance of opening lines to anything we write. I admit readily that if a book doesn’t draw me in almost immediately, I don’t tend to read on. My favourite opening lines of all time are from Pride & Prejudice: “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” Jane Austen: Pride and Prejudice (1813).

These words make me tingle, no matter how many times I read them. They reach the imagination on many levels at once.

Many of you who follow my blog are writers and poets. I decided; therefore, to make a feature of opening lines. And if you love to read, please tell us if, having read the openers I shall post, if you would be tempted to read on.

I had discussed the idea with Shawn…

View original post 124 more words

