Tags

, , ,

Happy Dragon Fire Festival!

Dragon Fire – dudziak

A time to turn our eyes to the lights in the sky as “night’s swift dragons cut the clouds full fast.” (Thanks you, Mr. Shakespeare!) But more on that tomorrow – it is a two day festival, after all.

Today I present Dragon Books, Part IV.

Though not my field of expertise, I felt it would be remiss of me to discuss Dragon books without touching on the Old Age/New Age area of Dragons and Magic(k). So, for those who believe in Dragon Magic and working with Dragons in a ritual fashion, and for the casually curious, I offer the following books for your consideration. Some I have read, some I have only had recommended to me, so forgive me if my commentary is brief. As with all things Dragon, I urge you to explore for yourselves and come to your own conclusions.

           

D.J. Conway. Dancing with Dragons (Llewellyn, 2002) and Mystical Dragon Magick (Llewellyn, 2009).

D.J.’s books are considered by many primers for those looking to work with Dragons in a magical fashion.

******

D.J.Conway. Magickal, Mystical Creatures (Llewellyn, 2001). A favorite of mine, in no small way thanks to its more-than-Dragon scope.

******

Parker Torrence. Sea, Land, Sky: A Dragon Magick Grimoire (Three Moon Media, 2003). I have not yet read Parker’s book (it’s on my list!), but have heard only the most wonderful things about it from those who have – and who are in the magickal know.

Ian Corrigan’s The Book of the Dragon: A New Grimoire was until recently almost impossible to find. It has recently been released in e-book form so is again available. Corrigan’s considered a major figure in Dragon Magick and Pagan rites. Worth a look, for sure.

*****

Ashley Dekirk. Oberon Zell Presents Dragonlore: From the Archives of the Grey School of Wizardry (New Page Books, 2006). This one I haven’t read, can’t vouch for in any way, but it looks fun. Amazon says: Dragonlore recounts the stories of dragons from Europe, Asia and the Americas, from the sea serpents Leviathan and Nessie to Lewis Carroll’s Jabberwock. This richly-illustrated book examines dragons in modern culture and the natural world, including the pterodactyl and other saurians, whose fossilized bones were inexplicable and awe-inspiring discoveries.

****

Scott Cunningham. Cunningham’s Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn, 1985). What is an herb book doing here? Well, I have found Scott’s book to be invaluable when it comes to planting with the mystical – especially Dragons – in mind. It is a reference no library, magickal or otherwise, can do without.

*****

Love to hear from the magically inclined out there, thoughts on these books and any others I most certainly missed.

 

